Posted on

HK Auteur Top Ten Films of 2013

Top Ten of 2013:
1. Blue Jasmine
2. About Time
3. The Act of Killing
4. Pacific Rim
5. Man of Steel
6. The Heat
7. The Call
8. Before Midnight
9. Gravity
10. Journey to the West: Conquering the Demons

Honorable Mentions:
Berberian Sound Studio
The Conjuring
To the Wonder
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Behind the Candelabra
Prisoners
Firestorm
Captain Phillips
Snowpiercer
Don Jon

Genuine Surprises:
The World’s End
The Guilt Trip
Man of Tai Chi

Downright Hated:
Unbeatable
Special ID
Cloud Atlas
Iron Man
3


Still Yet to See (Will be Updated):
The Wind Rises
47 Ronin

Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues
Philomena
Christmas Rose
Inside Llewyn Davis
The Way Way Back
Nebraska
Mud
Dallas Buyers Club
Nebraska
Like Father, Like Son
Blue is the Warmest Color

Verdict:

It seems this year I have gravitated to films that have impacted me on a deep emotional level on a lower volume than something to the likes of a loud and big special effects film or quirky idiosyncratic emotions from an indie picture. Even a film like Man of Steel moved me in its quieter dramatic moments. Anything that reflected upon life or anything about relationships between people were more personal to me this year.

Second to being touched were films that made me laugh, notably Pacific RimAbout Time and The Heat were films that I laughed from start to finish. It is an achievement that is often easily dismissed, but that earns huge props in my book.

One thing that I admittedly avoided were films with heavy subjects. The only movie that really peaked my interest was The Act of Killing. I was glad to have seen Terence Malick’s To the Wonder and Werner Herzog’s Youtube PSA about texting while driving, but I just didn’t want to think deep existential thoughts about life this year. I don’t know if there are more films like these out there this year.

I would have liked more Asian or European films to be on the list, but thus far nothing has earned any spots on my Top Ten, only my Honorable Mentions.

Most of the films yet to be reviewed are because they haven’t been released yet in my area, and I will probably get caught up in February when Oscar season comes around. I ask you to be patient with me.

Lastly, I figure I need to see more bad movies, which I  gladly would if I was able to review films professionally. There are films much more horrid than the ones I’ve listed here.

Again, as I’ve said before, I’ll try to keep it interesting. Bring on 2014!

Leave a Reply

